Roses Are Red

Today I was reminded that sometimes it’s just good to travel on a path and see where it takes you.

Quite literally.

It was my mom’s birthday and she asked to go to the Denver Botanic Gardens this evening to see the Henry Moore Exhibit. I started to fret a little, thinking about bath times, and what we’ll eat for dinner, and which car to take. And then, my day got too busy for me to remember to fret.

The next thing, we were at the Gardens, swept up in buying an annual membership to the most delightful hour of exploration we’ve had in a long time.

Fueled by our grown up Paninis (Roast beef and blue cheese) and kid Mac & Cheese (Kraft all the way, baby), we meandered through groves (are they groves or fields?) of exotic grasses, drifted past Japanese rivers and scampered on the rounded bronze of Henry Moore’s bodies. We came upon a couple having their engagement photos taken (he really chose the wrong shirt) and several bible groups, who, quite literally, were meeting in the Scripture Garden. We took our shoes off to walk down a beautifully pebbled pathway. There was a yoga class in Downward Dog under a pavillion, and a bartender clearing the debris of a cocktail hour, who could not be persuaded to give us wine, even though we were quiteinsistent that we WERE indeed from the networking group.

And a funny group we were. My parents, acrimoniously divorced since 1986, walking side by side admiring the Moores, at the invitation of my mother. Darian and I, occasionally having to leap at a kid on the edge of some kind of precipice. And our gaggle of 3 little people, with Milan in his Minnie dress always bringing up the rear. He’d skip and prance and then as if to belie the dress, throw a rock or shove his brother.

Yes, there was the customary end of day melt-down (MOM, I left my fuzzy in the restaurant, turn the car around NOW) and scramble for the best seat in the car, but we also rolled down hills to get to the parking lot, and dipped little fingers into the fountains at the exit.

And yes, I did actually stop to smell the flowers. More than once.

About baciamille

I'm Alexia, Alex, Lexi or Lex, depending on who you are. I'm mom to Mia, Maxim and Milan, wife to Darian, the co-creator and CEO known as Fancy Pants at Vuka Energy Drinks. I'm a marathon running, triathlete, musician and writer, wanna be rock star, all time actress, creative, vocal and sometimes just a little crahayzy. I think that's all. One day I plan to spend most of my time on a boat in the Carribean. Oh, and baciamille means a thousand kisses in Italian. I don’t know any other words in Italian.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

