Good Shabbes old school style

Growing up, we were a pretty sprouts and lentils kind of family, but my dad came from a traditional Jewish South African home, and one of my greatest memories was Friday night suppers at “Ma”. The food, traditionally Jewish and South African, was decidedly not sprouts and lentils, and dessert was always something banned at my house, like that chocolate  and multicolored Italian ice cream from a tub that was definitely going to make me cough so don’t eat too much because I think you’re allergic to artificial preservatives ok? I digress.

Sweet, sticky chicken is indelibly seared in my mind as a delectable Friday night meal, and I’ve been recreating this casserole with much delight for several years:
– chicken pieces: I buy thighs and drumsticks, but a whole cut up chicken works too. it all depends on how many people you’re serving.
– apricot jam: is is the secret ingredient and is a must, must have
– and then I throw in whatever is savory lookin’ in the fridge…an assorted array of balsamic salad dressing, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce…I just throw it all in until the mixture tastes exactly how I want my chicken to taste. The trick is to not let the sauce get too runny. It needs to be sticky
– place the chicken is a casserole dish and cover with the sauce
– and then, it true 60’s South African Jewish Household style, sprinkle dried onion soup over it all and then douse with the sauce again so the onion isn’t too dry and catches
– place in the oven at 350 fahrenheit  for about 1.5 hours, basting frequently

If you want to make this dish a little more gourmet, fresh or dried apricots are a good mix, and sometimes I’ll add green olives too, but that’s really another recipe…This chicken dish always gets a compliment and my kids can’t get enough of it. Plus, it’s divine as a leftover! Thanks Bobba!

About baciamille

I'm Alexia, Alex, Lexi or Lex, depending on who you are. I'm mom to Mia, Maxim and Milan, wife to Darian, the co-creator and CEO known as Fancy Pants at Vuka Energy Drinks. I'm a marathon running, triathlete, musician and writer, wanna be rock star, all time actress, creative, vocal and sometimes just a little crahayzy. I think that's all. One day I plan to spend most of my time on a boat in the Carribean. Oh, and baciamille means a thousand kisses in Italian. I don’t know any other words in Italian.
This entry was posted in Casserole, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

