Nom nom nom

I think there are few greater pleasures that making a great risotto. I love the simplicity of the ingredients and that all it takes, as my husband says, is love.

If you’ve got an hour to spare, patience, and aren’t needed anywhere else, here’s a good recipe for a simple risotto. A good glass of wine helps too.

My best thing to do is to add whatever I have on hand at the end. It could be fresh corn, lightly steamed, or some fresh peas. I like a bit of a fresh crunch. And of course the big secret is parmesan cheese. In my book, it has to be there. At least a little touch. It’s the gooey pleasure that makes it exceptional. One of my regular additions with be a pot roast I’ve been cooking since morning. I place it on top of the risotto as a more robust addition to the dish. Divine!

I don’t like to calculate how much liquid I’m going to use, just keep adding it, in 1/2 cup increments until you think it tastes divine. You’ll know when it’s done. Suddenly the risottos starts to look how you want it to, and no longer looks like rice.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 cups Arborio rice
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • as many cups of low-sodium chicken broth as you need
  • a handful of grated Parmesan
  • kosher salt to taste
  • any other goodies you might have on hand

Preparation

  • Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the rice and cook, stirring constantly, for 2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium-low. Add the wine and cook, stirring frequently, until the liquid is absorbed. Add the broth, 1/2 cup at a time. Stir constantly. Get into a rhythm and keep it moving. Wait until all the liquid is absorbed before adding more. Sometimes this process can take over an hour. Just keep going. And keep that yummy glass of wine by your side! Star adding dashes of the kosher salt towards the end but make sure to taste as you do. Remove from heat and stir in the Parmesan and anything else you might have planned. Spoon into individual bowls.
About baciamille

I'm Alexia, Alex, Lexi or Lex, depending on who you are. I'm mom to Mia, Maxim and Milan, wife to Darian, the co-creator and CEO known as Fancy Pants at Vuka Energy Drinks. I'm a marathon running, triathlete, musician and writer, wanna be rock star, all time actress, creative, vocal and sometimes just a little crahayzy. I think that's all. One day I plan to spend most of my time on a boat in the Carribean. Oh, and baciamille means a thousand kisses in Italian. I don’t know any other words in Italian.
This entry was posted in Risotto and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

