Squeaky Clean

A couple years ago I started doing cleanses. I started with a guided 18 day cleanse, which included a 4 day liquid fast. On the 4th day I ran a 5K with a tremendous amount of energy. It has always been a good experience, mainly as a great reminder to get my eating back on track and to eliminate some of the demons I’m prone to, like too much chocolate and a good glass of wine. I’ll also never say no to a chicken wing. I blame my incredibly healthy upbringing for my love of junk food.

Anyway, a couple people had asked me about the cleanse I was just on, and so I thought I’d blog about it. I just completed a 5 day cleanse that is the first 5 days of a 30 day program by Cynthia Sass from her book called Cinch. It’s pretty simple really: spinach, yoghurt, almonds, raspberries and egg. Not all at once. Breakfast could be spinach sautéed with egg and a dash of vinegar. Dinner, a salad with all ingredients. There are actually plenty of combinations, and the only thing I changed was the 10pm smoothie I had at 3pm, which is when I generally start to flag. What I really did like, was the fact that everything was measured out for you. I hate having to try and decode what I’m supposed to be eating. Tell me to eat 10 almonds and I’ll eat 10 almonds…

Besides the monotony of 5 days of the same flavor and textures (you are allowed to use vinegar and seasonings however), it was a pretty good cleanse, and for the most part, it did what I had hoped. I lost 4lbs, and although I’m still nibbling on the frequent bite of chocolate, I’m not much in the mood for a burger. In fact, I’ve gone on, and I’m doing the other 25 days of her eating plan, which I must admit, includes some pretty nice recipes. And yes, even chocolate!

About baciamille

I'm Alexia, Alex, Lexi or Lex, depending on who you are. I'm mom to Mia, Maxim and Milan, wife to Darian, the co-creator and CEO known as Fancy Pants at Vuka Energy Drinks. I'm a marathon running, triathlete, musician and writer, wanna be rock star, all time actress, creative, vocal and sometimes just a little crahayzy. I think that's all. One day I plan to spend most of my time on a boat in the Carribean. Oh, and baciamille means a thousand kisses in Italian. I don’t know any other words in Italian.
This entry was posted in Cleanse, Diet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

